TO ILLINOIS MOTORISTS

3. C lties due have now reached alarming proportions
and it is to the mterest of the motonst as well as the great public of Illinois that
an impr be effected i ly.

4. In Cook County alone in 1925, approximately 800 men, women, and chil-
dren were killed in this manner.

5. I propose, therefore, as a measure of co-operation with the Chicago Safety
Council and other agencies concerned in this extremely important problem, that
every motorist carrying an Illinois Emblem resolve that in 1927 he will be a
safe driver, profit by the advice herein, study the motor vehicle laws of this
State and thus do his share in conserving the lives and limbs of our people.

6. Surely your life and the lives of those riding with you are worth the
small effort and time required to warrant safe driving under all circumstances.

7. Safety First is Humanitarian—and it pays!

LOUIS L. EMMERSON,
Secretary of State.

1. As the State Executive charged with administration of the motor vehicle bil.
laws of Illinois I bespeak the active co-operation of all motorists in our efforts
to minimize death and injury due to the operation of motor vehicles.

2. Experience d ates beyond that 909, of these unfortunate
casualties are preventable by

(a) Compliance with the Law, especially with respect to speed ;

(b) Exercise of care by all concerned, including pedestrians;

(c) Literal Li with the ad ition to stop, look and listen at all
railroad crossings;

(d) Practice of ordinary courtesy of the road ;

(e) Exhibiting toward other motorists and pedestrians the same regard
as you expect them to exhibit toward you;

(f) Remembering that the child can not be expected to exercise the same
judgment as an adult when crossing the highway or playing in the street—
you must think for it!

REGISTRATION FEES—Effective Jan. 1, 1925

Fees for the Registration of Motor Vehicles of the First Division Fees for the Registration of Trailers

2 Year 14 Year
(Passenger cars carrying not more than 7 persons) Trailers having gross weight of 2,000 Ibs, and less, including weight g
Year 14 Year Year 14 Year of trailer andimaximumload. ... ...........o.iiiiiiiii 6.00 $ 3.00
Motor Bicycles . $ 4.00 $2.00 50 H. P. and more than Trailers having gross weight of more than 2,000 lbs. and not more
25 H. P. and less. ... 8.00 4.00 3 ..$20.00 $10.00 than 10,000 Ibs., including weight of vehicle and maximum load.. 25.00 12.50
35 H. P. and more (han More than 50 H. P. 25.00 12.50 Trailers havi.ng gross weight of more than 10,000 lbs., including
35 H. P o -y 12.00 6.00 Electric motor vehi 12.00  6.00 weight of vehicle and maximum load . .. 50.00 25.00
> 3 FEES for Registration as DEALER
Fees for the Registration of Motor Vehicles Year 14 Year Year 14 Year
of the Second Division Dealer’s License........ $20.00 $10.00 Set of duplicate plates ...$10.00 . ....
(Trucks, tractors and vehicles carrying more than 7 persons) FEES for Registration as CHAUFFEUR
Bl T 2 Year 14Year  Fee for first registration as a chauffeur. .
ehicles having gross weight of 5,000 1bs. and less, including weight Fee f 1 of chauff li 1si 1 i
of vehicle and maximum load ... ... ... ... o an el e] SRR fieere. Important Provisions in Motor Vehicle Law
Vehicles having gross weight of 12,000 Ibs. and more than 5,000 1bs., FEES for DUPLICATES Appliation o8 Silicenst mustibe mudeibithin
including the weight of the vehicle and maximum load. ......... 11.25 Duplicate motor vehicle license plate, each . o 24 hours after purchase of vehicle.
Vehicles having gross weight of 16,000 1bs. and more than 12,000 1bs., Duplicate motor bicycle plate, each ......... G g
including the weight of the vehicle and maximum load. . 75.00 37.50  Duplicate chauffeur’s badge, each . . . To retain same number, application and request
Ve:hxcles.havmg gross weight of Zq 000 Ibs. and'more thanls 0 olbs., Duplicate Certificate of Registration, each .50 must be filed 30 days before Janua 1
ms:ludmg the weight of the vehicle and maximumload.......... 100.00 50.00 Duplicate dealer’s plates (set of 2 plates) . E: - o h: 1 . d
Vehicles having gross weight of more than 20,000 1bs., including the Duplicate dealer’s plate (lost), each . A VEly S Person Operatmg a mptor vehicle equippe
weight of vehicle and maximum 10ad . ......................... 150.00 7500  Duplicate trailer plate, each with electric headlight or headlights must dim, drop
or extinguish them when within not less than two
hundred fifty feet of a motor vehicle approaching in
an opposite direction regardless of whether or not the
Automobile Automobile machine is equipped with so-called anti-glare lens or
Licenzes Fees dimming device.
Year I d 5 Dealers can only use dealer’s license plates on
ssue Received
si 1911 N machines operated for sales and demonstrating pur-
ince Since 1911 poses only.
1911 38269 $105,344.28 Law requiring garages to keep records of machines
held in their place of business for rental, storage, liv-
912 68,012 375,71622 ery or repair is repeal
1913 94,646 507,134.77 All bus and freight lmes operating regularly over
fixed or definite routes between two or more munici-
1914 131,140 703,403.70 palities or from a point or points outside a munici-
pality into_a municipality or between two or more
1915 180,832 924,905.74 points outside a municipality or between two or more
1916 248429 points inside a municipality over improved state
4 1242.509.85 highways and with fixed schedules or rates shall pay
1917 340,292 1,587,772.69 additional license fees per each one hundred pounds
gross weight of vehicle and load. The fee is $1.00 per
1918 389,761 2,762,567.53 hundred.
No truck or vehicle of the second division shall be
1919 478,438 3,262,176.57 operated on any public highway unless it be equipped
with a mirror so attached that it will afford the driver
1920 568,759 §,893,586.02 a view of the road behind him.
1921 The maximum speed permitted any vehlclt_& of Vthe
663,348 6,776,781.17 first division or passenger cars upon any public high-

1922
1923

1924
1925

1926
1927-4

781,974
973,803

1,132,641
1,267,734

1,478,065
1,289,107

11,5

12,936,882.13
14,047,207.86

$12,846,420.96

7,861,211.21
9,630,367.77

13,957.05

way outside of the limits of an incorporated city,
town or village, shall not exceed 35 miles an hour.
Whoever except members of fire or police depart-
ment drive on any public highway a motor truck
which is geared to run at a greater speed than that

permitted for such motor

truck, or if geared to run

at a greater speed is not equipped with an apparatus
device fixed so as to prevent the motor truck from
attaining a speed greater than that permitted by this
act, is guilty of a misdemeanor.

Any person operating

a motor vehicle knowing

that an injury has been caused to person or damage
to property due to negligence or to accident shall
leave the scene of the accident without giving his
name, address and license number to the injured party
or to a police officer is subject to $200.00 fine or im-

prisonment in county jail

one year, or both.
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Synopsis of the Motor Vehicle Law

Section 3. Capacity plate to be fur-
nished for vehicles of the truck division
in addition to the regular number plates.

Vehicle combined with trailers shall not
exceed 65 feet without special permit.

Section 8. Requiresy the owner of a
motor vehicle or motor bicycle to procure
a license for the same within 24 hours
after he becomes the owner thereof.
Secretary of State may furnish dupli-

cates when original plates or cer-
tificates of registration are lost,
stolen or destroye
License numbers may be re-
assigned if renewal and
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request is filed 30 days before January 1.
Lists licenses issued, _ furnished
shenlfs, county clerks and chiefs of police
in cities of 5,000 or over.
ame lists can be furnished individuals,
corporations, etc., upon payment of fee of

@
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Section 9. Provision for the registration
of motor vehicles carrying freight or more

an seven persons, tractors, traction
ngines and trailers,

ection 9A. Requires additional license

fees payable annually of operators of
freight and passenger vehicles used for
hire when regularly operated over fixed
routes on improved highways

Section 10, Fess provided for in Section
9 must be paid before the vehicles are used.

Section 12. Report to the Secretary of
State, on proper blank, the sale ‘of a motor
vehicle of the Second Divi

Section 13. Authorizes Lhe Secret,ary of
State to_bring suit for the collection of
Tegistration fees, etc.
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Tricense plates must be firmly attached
and conspicuously displayed on the front
and rear of the motor vehicle to which
they are assigned.

License plates must be kept clean.

Section 15. Provides a fine not to exceed
$100.00 for mutilating, covering or alter-
ing a license plate.

Section 16. Between one hour after sun-
set and sunrise, every notor bicycle shall
carry one lighted lamp and every motor
vehicle shall carry two lighted lamps
visible at least 200 feet in the direction
the motor bicycle or motor vehicle is pro-
ceeding.

At leust one lighted lamp must be dis-
played at the rear of the motor vehicle,

r_bicycle or trailer, showing o red

llght vxslble in the reverse direction. This

f t must be so situated that it shines on

e rear license plate so that the numbers
are legible at least 50 feet.

t is necessary for the operator of a
motor vehicle or motor bicycle which is
equipped with electric headlights to dim,
drop or extinguish such headlights when
within 250 feet of another vehicle ap-
proaching from the opposite direction.

Between one hour after sunset and sun-
rise, every motor vehicle or motor bicycle
standing on a public highiay must display
a light on the front and at the rear of the
same. City, town or village may, by
ordinance, designate any lighted street
or highway where cars may be parked
without lamps lighted.

Sootion 17, Manufacturers and dealers
in motor vehicles may procure a license
covering all makes of cars manufactured
or dealt in by them for sales and demon-

strating purposes only.

g-@-m

Dealers plates are different form from
regular motor vehicle license plates.

License plates must be conspicuously
displayed on the front and rear of each
motor vehicle operated on the public
highways.

ealer must give purchaser a Bill of
Sale, giving dcscnpmon of car, ete.

ealers’ licenses issued, fur-

nished sheriffs, county clerks and chiefs of

pohoe, in cities of 5,000 or over.

n 18. No license number except the

SRS B15 415 totivebidls o dioe

bicyele by the Secretary of State and only

the license plates which are furnished by

him shall be displayed for a State license.

AIl licenses shall be renewed by the
First day of January.

Section 19. The Vendor of a motor
vehicle or motor bicycle shall remove the
license plate or plates from the vehicle
sold and, within ten days after the trans-
action, file Statement of Change of Owner-
ship on proper blank.

ny time during the remainder of the

as noL to endanger the life or limb ot any

P Saction 244, Trucks geared to run at a
greater speed than permitted by law must,
be equipped with a governor.

TUpon conviction for violation, license
shall be revoked for one year.

ction 25. Racing on the pubhc high-

weg: S of this Stats is prohibil
ction 27. Any person opemtmg a
motor vehicle as a mechanic or employee,
or who directly or indirectly receives pay
or any compensation whatsoever for any
work ‘or services in connection with the
operation of & motor vehislo or ¢ho trans:

£ive a wrong description on an application
for license in order to conceal the identity
of the vehicle shall be deemed guilty of a
felony. Upon conviction of above offense,
punishment shall be from one tofive years'
imprisonment in the State Pemtenmar
Section 35. Person owning or off

for sale a motor vehicle with the anpgunl
engine number destroyed or altered, or
without an engine number, except eledtric
vehicles, shall be deemed guilty of a mm
demeanor.  Fine of not less ‘than $200.0

nor more than $500.00 or by 1mpns\mmenb
in the County Jail Ior not less than 30 nor
more than 180 d&y‘i oth. Second con-

portation of
with a motor vehicle oxhitahTOEb i
fary profit, must procure a chauffeur’s
icen:

“Application for license must b ascom-
panied by photographs of tho applicant,
fee and statements of persons knowing
him, showing that the applicant is a
proper_person to receive license.

Applicant must bo at least 18 years of

year, he may transfer this license to cover ag

another motor vehicle owned by him by
executing Application for Transfer of
Number on proper blank and paying fec
as pruvlded
Vendor must give the purchaser a
Bill of Sale giving description of car, ete.
he purchaser of the vehicle must
procure a license.
Motor vehicles owned by the State or
municipalities may be reg!swred for $2.00.
Section 20. A non-r¢ nt may sojourn
in this State for a permd of six months or
less without procuring a license for his
motor vehicle, provided he has complied
with the law in force in the State of his
residence and that he displays license

‘motor vehicle or motor bicycle is standing
on any public highvay without an. at-
tendan

Sccmon 21A. Vehiclos of second division

e T T bobie .

Section 22. No driver shall operate a
motor vehicle of the first division at a
greater rate of speed than is considered
reasonable, having regard for the traffic so

Non resident chauffeur who is sojourn-
ing in this State may operate cars without
procuring license, for the same period that

the State of his residence permits chauf-
feurs of this State to operate.

License of drunken ehauffeur may be
revoke

Chauffeur shall not permit any other
person to use his badge, as license is not.
transferable from one person to another.

Section 29. No person or corporation
shall employ i T feus any person
‘who is not licensed as such.

Section 30. No person shall operate a
motor vehicle or a motor bicycle without
the consent of the owner.

ment in the County Jail for not exceeding
6 months is provided for the violation of
this Section.

Section 31. No person under 15 years
of age shall operate a motor vehicle unless
accompanied by the owner of the vehicle
o a licensed chauffeur.

Section 32. Any person whois convicted
of moving or attempting to move a motor
vehicle or intentionally marking or damag-
ing any part of a motor vehicle shall be
fined not more than $100 or imprisoned in
the County Jail for not more than six
months or_ both.

Section 33. Motor vehicles approaching
from the right have the ight of way.

ities over 10,000 inhabitants may
designate certain streets as preferential
traffic streets.

Operator of motor vehicle must signal
his intention of turning or stopping to
thoso closel in the rear, by out-stretohed
arm or otherwi

Settion 31 Anifderaon witb-aill o:

viction of
by imprisonment in the penitentiary for
not less than one nor more than five years.

Secretary of State may give permission
to make of stamp a special engine number
on the engines of motor vehicles which
have none, provided application on proper
blank, otey. is exeouted and accompanied
by fee of $1.00. This number shall then
become the lawful engine number.

o motor vehicle can be registered
without an engine number,

Section 36. All fees collected are de-
oate i the Stat Treasurg o the oredit
of the Road Fund and shall be used o pay
bonded indebtedness which may be in-
curred for construction of roads or for the
improvement of the Highways.

NOTE: The operating expenses of the
Automobile Department are not deducted
from tho fees colloted but aro paid from
appropriations made General
Asceubly, so that all recelp(:s 2o into the
‘Good Roads” fund of the State and
Ay v anyiother purpose,

Section 40. It is necessary for the

p\atcs substantially as is required in  If a chauffeur accepts any commissions, operator of a motor vehicle or motor
J109] mg%mm-mm line e bonuses or discounts for e purchase oﬁ bwgcle wlll]wh is in sz xﬁglent to sto;z
‘Section 21 Every motor vehiole or supphios, repair work or anything which and give his name an ress; and, i
m%mﬁ%%%%ﬁ%%%mmmmm- motor bxcycle ‘must be equipped with good ~ shall cost his employer money, helgsgmlty not the owner of the machine, give the
gm 821251 [245 160 146305287293 73 [234 [393] 112] 61 [292] 104 {203] brakes and some suitable signaling device. of a misdemeanor. name and address of the owner, to any
[265[ 8 [207aes] o4 [ 34 Engine must not be left Tunning when  Fine not exceeding $200.00 or imprison- one who may inquire.

In meeting a_person, animal or vehicle
on the public highway, it is necessary for
the operator of a motor vehicle to keep
to the right and pass to the right of a
vehicle coming in the opposite direction.

Signal and pass to the left of another
vehicle going in the same direction.

pon signal from vehicle approaching

from the  rear, pull to the right and allow
it to pas

The operator of a motor vehicle or
motor bicyele shall not drive such vehicle
within ten feet of the running board of a
street railway car which is stopped, except
by signal from a, traffic officer.

Section 41. No person shall drive a
motor vehicle upon the public highway
who is intoxicated. Fine for violation of

this provision of the law is not more tha

$200.00, or by imprisonment in the
CoEnty Jail for not more than sixty days,
or

Sccuon 41A. In case of accident oper-
ator must stop and give name, residence,

g | stroy or alter the egg\ne ‘number or o}fher ote, to the ""'émdl party or tola %thl

distinguishing number on a motor vehicle officer or nearest police station or judicial

Il m umzmmma Y A S lis SRR 15 officor.” Ponalty not to exceod $200.00 or

o i sl sl s sspaiseos 15 s 2 o] e B A P e T ES e G ey helongt to abo e Al 10t babesdite on T 7aa? br
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[ 45 [ 12 [120]194 193 162155 76 | cities of 100,000 or more to file on each

vehicle a $2,500 boud or insurance policy
for protection of public.

COMPLETE COPY OF THE MOTOR
VEHICLE LAW MAY BE HAD UPON
REQUEST TO

LOUIS L. EMMERSON,

IS e > Secretary of State
mm@ 101]130) mmmmmmmtm@m Springfield, TIl.
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