

The first Tier Two Public Meeting for the Elgin O'Hare – West Bypass Project was held on Tuesday, September 22, 2010 at the Itasca Holiday Inn, 860 W. Irving Park Road, Itasca, Illinois from 4 – 8 PM. The meeting was an open house format with a continuous PowerPoint presentation, exhibit boards, large scale aerials of the improvements, and horizontal and vertical profile information for attendees to review and provide comment. The meeting was attended by 158 people.

The purpose of the meeting was to recap the Tier One process and results, introduce the Tier Two planning process, and present the design and financing options being considered.

A series of boards on easels provided project background, and the roadway and transit alternatives were also available for review. Beyond the background boards were a series of tables staffed by the project team that focused more closely on the design options of both the Elgin O'Hare Extension and the West Bypass. The meeting was publicized through the Daily Herald, via the project website, and by a newsletter distribution to approximately 1,500 people. The advertisement appeared in the Daily Herald on August 31<sup>st</sup> and September 14<sup>th</sup>.

## The following public officials were in attendance:

- Village of Itasca: Grant Davis (Planner), Nicole Aranas (Community Development Director), Al Stefan (Village Engineer), Frank Madaras (Village Trustee), Evan Teich (Village Administrator)
- Village of Arlington Heights: Jim Massarelli (Director of Engineering)
- Village of Addison: Joe McDermott (Alderman)
- City of Elmhurst: Michael Bram (Alderman), Paula Pezza (Alderman)
- DuPage County: John Kos (Highway Department)
- State Senator Carole Pankau
- State Senator Dan Kotowksi
- Office of U.S. Congressman Peter Roskam: Kitty Weiner
- Village of Mount Prospect: Jeff Wulbecker (Village Engineer)
- City of Chicago: John Ellis (Procurement)
- Village of Hanover Park: Rodney Craig (Mayor)
- Village of Hoffman Estates: Mike Hankey (Director of Tranportation & Engineering), Nathan Roseberry (Traffic Engineer)

- City of Schaumburg: Richard Bascomb (Senior Transportation Planner)
- City of Wood Dale: Ross Klicker (Planning/Economic Development Coordinator), Greg Kuhs (Exec. Director Park District)
- Elk Grove Village: Matt Roan (Deputy Village Manager)
- Illinois Tollway: Rocco Zucchero
- Village of Bensenville: Patricia Johnson (Village Board)
- RTA: Bill Lenski
- DuPage Mayors and Managers Conference: Tam Kutzmark

## A number of engineering firms, contractors, developers, and real estate professionals were represented, including:

- Orange Crush
- K-Five Construction
- Paine Wetzel
- Grubb & Ellis
- CBRE
- Re/Max
- Autumn Construction
- Worldwide Equipment
- STV Incorporated
- IRTBA
- Hanson, Inc.
- NAI Hiffman
- Plote Construction
- HDR, Inc,
- Civil Tech

## The following Media were represented:

- Daily Herald, Marni Pike
- Suburban Life, Erin Saunder

A total of 21 comments were received during the comment period. IDOT has responded to these comments and both the comments and responses are included in Section 5B of this document.